Curriculum for the Degree of Master in Business Administration (MBA) Specialization in Disaster Risk Management (DRM)

A. Basic Courses 9 Units
A.1 3 Units
A.2 3 Units
A.3 3 Units
B. Major Field of Concentration 21 Units
B.1 3 Units *
B.2 3 Units
B.3 3 Units *
B.4 3 Units
B.5 3 Units *
B.6 3 Units *
B.7 3 Units *
C. Cognates 9 Units
C.1 3 Units
C.2 3 Units
C.3 3 Units
C.4 3 Units
C.5 3 Units
C.6 3 Units
C.7 3 Units
C.8 3 Units
C.9 3 Units
C.10 3 Units *
3 Units *
C.11 3 Units
D. Thesis Writing 6 Units
D.1 6 Units
Grand Total 45 Units

* DRM related content for specific Majors (B 1, 3, 5, 6, and 7) will be covered by C.10; Special Seminar in DRM Specializaiton.

The MBA Specialization in DRM Degree Requirements

To complete the MBA specialization in DRM Thesis Program and be awarded the degree of Master in Business Administration (MBA) Specialization in Disaster Risk Management (DRM), a candidate must meet satisfactorily the following requirements:

  1. Completion of at least thirty-nine (39) units of required Basic, Major and Congnate courses as prescribed in the above curriculum, with general average of at least 2.0 or 85%;
  2. Must pass Special Seminar in Disaster Risk Management (C.10);
  3. Passing six (6) additional units for thesis program. Thesis topic should be aligned to the Disaster Management field; and
  4. Completion of all academic and thesis requirements within five (5) years reckoned from date of original enrolment in the MBA Specialization in DRM Program.

Baccalaureate degree holder of non-business/commerce course shall be required to complete at least six (6) additional units of COGNATES subjects in the MBA Specialization in DRM Program, or complete at least twelve (12) units of undergraduate business subjects which shall be prescribed by the Dean/Associate Dean of the Graduate School of Business.

* Revised effective SY 2005-2006